Hit the Road Jack

Photo Credit: Created Gravity Expressions “The Road Less Travelled” by Gervanna Stephens
Photo Credit: Created Gravity Expressions “The Road Less Travelled” by Gervanna Stephens

Go away!

Leave!

Let me alone!

Thoughts of doubt plague my mind
arrest vision and shatters glasses thick
I can see the road but not the end
toll is due to be paid, for bridge to be
crossed
off my list of shame and disgrace.

Doubt looms clear
taunting my sight
driving fear into my mind
I limit myself to only what myself can see.

I doubt…I doubt…I doubt…
and drink Jack, last name Daniels dry.

The cops come and throw bottle into wall
Jack dead and spewing bodily fluids on floor
stained.

I shake my head clear…

“Hit the road Jack and don’t you come back no more!”

I shake myself free
stand up
bat doubts away and LIVE.

Be Kind and Share…

32 thoughts on “Hit the Road Jack

    1. Thanks for the nomination and glad you had a good read of my thoughts. I will definitely accept the award and check it out. Question I only see your blog name – what’s yours may I ask?

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Okay, no problem…
        I’m a “Black” Jamaican who loves writing and expression. I try to be as creative as possible and try my best to write pieces that’ll strike interest in readers. I want my writing to “grip” readers. Ergo, “Gripping Black”

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

