The Ladder at the Edge of the World

Show me rung by rung the steps toward my life’s destination
step by step to step on steps made of boarded concrete.
Rotten, covered in harsh vantages and perspectives skewed
if I stand at the bottom how can I reach to heights of
greatness kept and attain to monikers real. Call me by my name.

Show me rung by rung the steps toward my life’s destination
up and up, further and over, up and up, climbing, reaching.
Set, in front of my view, I view the sea, see you and me, seated
hand in hand, not moving. The ladder at the edge of the world looks at me.

Five to four, nearing three, two then one, the ladder is not my destiny
I must climb to get off, the world’s edge is ending fast, shattering around and breaking down. I cling to the ladder at the edge of the world.

If I don’t move, move up and move forward I will never leave this edge’s point. Pointing to memories in life that see me successful. Successfully reaching higher.

The ladder at the edge of the world needs to be climbed. I’m ready now to move.

Ladder-at-the-Edge-of-the-World
Photo Credit: buckleupbitch.com

Be Kind and Share…

One thought on “The Ladder at the Edge of the World

Leave a Reply

